Wading Staff - Cheap!

afishinado

afishinado

Staff member
Heads up on a wading staff I bought cheap for my wife - $18.95 on sale, and $23.95 regular price! I received it this weekend and, for the price, it’s an unbelievable bargain. It has six heavy aluminum sections shock corded together, with a cork handle and a compass mounted on top of the handle. Included is a leather holster for attaching it to your belt. It appears to be very well made. I, of course, haven’t tried it out yet, but for the price – 1/5 the price of a Folstaff or Simms, you can’t seem to go wrong. Also I got a free subscription to “Field & Stream” magazine with the purchase – not that it matters that much.

BTW, I’m teaching my wife to fish and thus far, she is batting close to 1,000 on falling into the water while wading. She used a wading staff this summer when we went smallmouth fishing in Maine and didn’t fall in, so I bought her a wading staff for Christmas.

You may not believe this, and I hesitate to write this for fear of jinxing myself, but I have never fallen in the water while wading – ever. I’ve been wade-fishing since I was a kid (forty years +/-), I fish a lot, and while I do wade carefully, I wade aggressively in all kind of rivers and streams. I have never used wading staff before, but I fear as soon as I do, the inevitable will happen.

If your thinking about a wading staff, take a look at this one. Link attached:

Wading Staff link

Another idea is using is to use a an old broom handle, just drill a hole through one end to tie a rope through.

try fishing for stripers in the delaware up to your wader tops in white water, bet you'll go in..been there done that above trenton in the tidal water.... :-D :-D even with a staff its hard, got to get those 30 lbers. :-o