Two fly rig advice

Great article I had to learn most of those tips the hard way . I fished with 1 fly for year’s because of the wasted time untangling and re tying every time I fished 2 flies . Thanks for sharing

I like the part about knowing when to just cut off a tangle and re-tie.

I'll take that a step further. Fly anglers would do well to get over buying "tippet" and instead just find a good bulk mono or fluoro line and use that. When you have 300yds of tippet material at your disposal, you are a lot less likely to feel the need to conserve material. I've been using P-Line fluoro for virtually all of my subsurface fishing. The 4lb and 6lb sizes are great for nymphing. If I need something, smaller Seaguar has some good options too.

I glanced through the article. I've been fishing two and three fly rigs for thirty years. I fish my flies in line tied together by the eyes of the hook. I keep my flies about a foot apart. I use five-foot braided butt leaders. My first section of tippet is around five feet, and my first fly is a weighted fly. I'll use, say, a bead head Hare's ear, then another nymph and then a wet fly/emerger, depending on what hatches are going on or knowing the stream. As pointed out in the article, you need to employ a smooth back cast. I take my line in enough to gain control, lift it off the water, let the line straighten up behind me and then lay it out in a straight line. If you need to false cast, keep the same in mind. I get tangles when I'm not paying attention to my cast. I do use a small strike indicator. I agree with Penn Kev on tippet. I have been using spools of fluorocarbon mono for years. Currently, I have been using Berkley Vanish for 3x, 4x and 5x. I still use regular fluro tippet for 6x and 7x. The diameters are close. You get 260 yards for $8(?). I get mine from Bass Pro.