Trout Streamers

M

mattmask

Anyone use any good streamers on trout other than a wooly bugger. If so please try to post the recipes for me. Thanks.
:)

Black Ghost, Micky Finn and Muddler Minnow. All found in fly tying books or on the web. However, the black ghost I tie with Marabou.

mattmask,

I started fishing Clouser minnows this year and did rather well. Try the smaller sizes (8-12) in whatever colors are present where you fish. Don't leave home without a yellow/red and charturese/white though.

JH

I love streamer fishing and I'm always trying new ways. My favorites are:

Shenk's Minnow (tied in several color combinations)
Clouser Minnow (Several color combinations)
Thunderheads (I've been using them for about 3 years now and I'm really suprised at the success I've had with them.

Shenk's white minnow
black matuka
black zonker
mickey finn
black nosed dace

google has recipies for all of them.

Slumpbusters
Don't need anything else.
Did just start tying some Meat Whistles but I have tried them yet. Thier more of a big water streamer but the Slumps I tie down to size 12 in various colors. They catch fish everywhere any time. They are simply the best streamer I have ever fished.

Besides Buggers:

Clouser Foxee Minnow
Shenk Minnow
The various rabbit strip patterns: Zonker etc.

I'm surprised that several people mentioned the Mickey Finn. You really catch many fish on that fly? I tried it some back around 1970 and didn't have a lot of luck, so haven't used it since.

About adding weight to streamers. I haven't tried coneheads yet. Is there an advantage to using them over the lead dumbell eyes?

I'm surprised that several people mentioned the Mickey Finn. You really catch many fish on that fly? I tried it some back around 1970 and didn't have a lot of luck, so haven't used it since.

About adding weight to streamers. I haven't tried coneheads yet. Is there an advantage to using them over the lead dumbell eyes