Too close to the eye of the hook.

PocketWater

PocketWater

So I am pretty new to fly tying, and have done pretty well so far. One issue I have, though, is I have gotten too close to the eye of the hook on a lot of flies and end up with thread/dubbing/hair blocking the eye of the hook. The poker thing on my nippers is too large to really clear out the eyes now that the flies are completed and its damn near impossible to get your tippet through the eye. This issue has occurred mostly when I attempted to tie smaller dry flies on around size 16 or 18 hooks.

Does anybody have any good method or pointer on clearing the eyes out? I thought about a sewing needle but just wondered if anyone else had any go to methods for a remedy for this.

I have definitely made a much more conscious effort to stay farther from the eye, but hate having a couple dozen flies in my box I can't use because I can't get the darn tippet through the eye when out on the stream.

Thanks.

Take a bodkin and a lighter, get the bodkin very hot(glowing) and then just push it through the eye and it WILL clear the materials in the eye. Just be very careful with this obviously and if you think you will burn the thread(if you have thread over the eyelet) then just put some head cement or superglue over the tie off and it'll still be bullet-proof

Thanks. I will have to give this a try. I was out yesterday on the stream and it seemed like half a dozen different flies I wanted to try had stuff blocking the eye so there I am standing in the middle of the stream trying to jam tippet through a wad of material.

use a feather and pull it thru the eye to clear any head cement

cleaningfeather.jpg

just stay away from the eye

behindtheeye_zps8208188f.jpg

use fine tipped scissors to trim any waste from the eye before the finish knot

Same problem I had for first year tying. I learned that a lot of Navy swear words will eventually make the line go through the plugged eyelet.