The (Other) Catskills

hooker-of-men

hooker-of-men

Looks like I’m moving the family out of the Poconos and up to NY. We’re looking at the northern Catskills / Hudson Valley in the proximity of the town of Catskill. I have some experience with ww in the area, particularly lakes, but my research on trout so far has me nervous.

Roscoe, etc. is 2 hours away, so that’s not gonna cut it for getting in an hour or two here and there throughout the week. Does anyone have any insights into Greene County or Columbia County?

So far, I’m seeing a lot of large,warm put-and-take fisheries( Upper stretches of Catskill Creek, Kaaterskill Creek, parts of Kinderhook Creek). Esopus Creek seems to hold some wild trout about an hour south, and Kinderhook Creek holds trout about the same distance north. Does this sound right?

I’m not really even super picky about wild vs. stocked, but NEPA has spoiled me in terms of being able to find fishable streams 15 minutes from my house year round. Not looking like the case for ny. Any help is appreciated

I don't know that part of the state very well. I think Scoharie creek is not too far. The battenkill should not be that far either. I think you will be able to find brook trout in most small streams in the area. I think the limiting factor in that area is water temp. If you can find cold water, you will find trout.

You can also look southeast towards the NYC water supply reservoirs. I think there are a few smaller tailwaters that fish pretty well.

You could go to the NY-DEC map here: http://www.dec.ny.gov/outdoor/7749.html

and pick your regions of interest and then look around for wild trout info/easements (NYS has a very good long established trout stream easement program). There's bound to be quite a bit of information available if you search it out. The DEC sites are pretty good...