Teaching Myself to Fly Fish

R

rufus

Hello, this is my first post here.

I've been fishing for trout my whole life with a regular spinning reel. This year i decided that i wanted to learn how to fly fish. I picked up a scientific anglers kit 9ft 5/6wt rod. A friend of mine is a very good fly fisher and used to teach courses on it and is helping me. He gave me some flies, including a wooly bugger and a worm imitator along with some egg patterns. I fish in the brodhead creek in a pretty fast section of water. I currently have a 6x leader with a 4lb monofilament tippet(that i made with regular fishing line). I have the wooly bugger tied on and am looking for some tips. I fish in somewhat fast water, how should i have my line set up? Any weight? How should i cast? And retrieve? Thanks for the help, i've enjoyed reading a lot on this forum.

Sorry for any spelling mistakes, i typrd all this on an iPad.

well im no expert by any means, but i did pick up some stuff on here that could help. losts of different ways of fishing the wooly bugger, since i was an avid baitcaster/spinning fisherman, i fish it as if it were a hair jig by bouncing it off the bottom. try and get a good drift on it by casting a decent amount above the spot your trying to hit so the streamer has time to sink then let it drift down the creek. If you get no takes you can strip it in and make it hop by doing quick strips. I caught my first trout that way. Alot of people say the drift is the most important thing for streamers/nymph's so work on that. as i learned this week end casting streamers, especially ones that are a little to big can be hard. Some on recently told me on the forum to do a spey cast and i think its called a snap t cast. That is in the beginner topic "casting streamers"

most of the buggers i fish have a bead head so they get down a little quicker, but if yours dont or if you are having trouble getting them to your desired depth you can ad a small split shot or two.