Susky smallies

wgmiller

wgmiller

I'm seeing all over the "Fishing the Susquehnna" Facebook page that Susky smallmouth action is heating up. 30, 40, 50 fish days are being reported. I was fishing Falmouth yesterday in search of esox and saw some spin guys upriver of me landing smallie after smallie.

https://www.facebook.com/groups/FishtheSusque/

If you can make it out to the "big river", it appears as though now is a good time!

I'm fairly new to the smallmouth game and am surprised you can get out and catch them this early. Would you need sinking line to get them down deep or would they be in the shallower water?

I haven't fished the Susquehanna yet, but I may be moving to Lancaster soon and will be warmwater fishing a lot if I do end up there.

Beef,
This time of year (March to Mid April) is known in bass circles as the "pre-spawn." It is a prime time to catch big fish and, for me, the time of the year when I've caught the most big fish.

You don't need a sinking line, but it does help to fish in deeper sections close to the bottom until the water temp gets over 50 degrees (which I think has been surpassed in the Susky by now).

I usually lay off river bass around mid to late April, or until I see the first fish cutting redds.

Thanks, Dave. I should have taken the chance to fish the Susquehanna while I was in Lancaster in the beginning of the week. I guess I normally focus on trout until after the bass spawn and didn't realize you could target them earlier. I'm going to have to start fishing for pre-spawn bass, too!

For now, I'm in Pittsburgh. Wonder if I could get into them in the Allegheny this time of year.

Yes! You can certain get them there now.

BH I've seen people fly fishing right downtown at the point

I've been out on the river 3times at Middletown. Caught some nice bass on clousers and crayfish patterns. I had a 20in break me off at the boat! Ouch...