Suggested patterns for beginners

SlingerFlyRods

SlingerFlyRods

Good morning. I am relatively new to fly tying. Admittedly, all I have tied are green weenies, buggers and glo bugs.

tied a bunch of these last night. not the greatest but I think they should work.

What other flies would you suggest I get myself into that are relatively easy for beginners? My dad has all the stuff for tying and he's been showing me how to do everything in steps, its just nice to hear other peoples opinions on patterns and such.

FYI I am big into wild and native trout waters and spend most of my time on class A's and wilderness streams

Pheasant tails, hares ears and walts worm are a good start.

For the fishing you do, I'm not sure there's a better fly than a green weenie subsurface.

If/when you're ready to get into dries, start with something like an Elk Hair Caddis.

thank you for the replies.. the flies I use on top for wild/natives are as follows (in no particular order) dark adams, royal wulff, EHC, and anything with a parachute which ive seen my dad tie and looks challenging.

Parachutes are...different.

I personally find them far easier to tie than any other hackled dry, but I know a few friends who are my equals/betters in tying that avoid them because they give them fits. Typically, I try to remember this and if I know I'll be fishing with those guys offer to trade some parachutes of mine for wulffs, humpies, and other stuff I don't tie as much.

My favorite brookie fly is the stimulator, tied in a #14. Really, though, they're not picky. Just use something that'll fit in their mouth that floats forever and is easy for you to see on the water.

Ants & beetles

good deal. I know my dad has all the stuff to make those in his fly tying bench.. anyone recommend a good book or online resource for pattern specifics? such as hook size and type, and colors?

Beginner patterns should have few and easy to use materials and only a couple of steps.