Stocking a beginners fly box - Looking for some insight

steveo27

steveo27

I'm new to fly flying and I am looking to start putting together a nice collection of flies.

I've been reading and researching all over and have been finding some good information.

The problem is, Im not looking for the "10 best flies", "a dozen top flies", ect. I am looking to put together a nice little box that will works for my needs.

My needs : I live in Western PA, most, if not all the streams I'll be fishing are all freestone streams. Most of the streams have stocked fish in them. I do however plan on trying to fish some Class A streams once I get a little more comfortable with a fly rod.

In the box I've put together so far, I have

- Light Cahill
- Elk Hair Caddis
- Ant
- Royal Wulff
- Orange Stimulator
- Sucker Spawn
- Muddler Minnow
- Hair Ear Nymph
- Gold Bead Pheasant Tail Nymph
- Gold Bead Prince Nymph
- Copper John Nymph
- San Juan Worm

I plan on adding a few...

- Green Weenie
- Wooly Bugger

I would love to hear some thoughts/suggestions.

What else should I add to this collection?

So far, Ive had luck catching fish with the light cahill, royal wulff, and orange stimulator.

I think my biggest thing is Im not really sure what size of each fly I should be buying. Im worried I am either buying too large or too small.

Maybe some stonefly patterns and some midges? Adams dry also. Id say thats a good start...different sizes for each as well.

I think it pretty good list...of course if you know a particular hatch is going on, you'd want something similar. I'd suggest adding some rusty spinners as they represent several mayfly species to be fished at dusk.

steveo27 wrote:

In the box I've put together so far, I have

- Light Cahill
- Elk Hair Caddis
- Ant
- Royal Wulff
- Orange Stimulator
- Sucker Spawn
- Muddler Minnow
- Hair Ear Nymph
- Gold Bead Pheasant Tail Nymph
- Gold Bead Prince Nymph
- Copper John Nymph
- San Juan Worm

I plan on adding a few...

- Green Weenie