Stocked/wild techniques

C

Colweb78

Hey all,

Was just wondering if those of you with more experience fish differently in stocked waters vs wild. Thought it might be a relevant topic with season just weeks away.

Im still learning and just fishing areas of Spring Creek. Amazed how many wild trout were jumping about last Thurs afternoon over at Benner Pike!

Also - fishing etiquette. When two other fly fishers parked up near me i switched to my spinning rod and bank fished as got worried about crowding them/ stealing their stretch - especially where i dont have mastery of my casting accuracy and distance. Any advice appreciated

Yes, different methods are employed when fishing for stocked fish or wild fish.

As for etiquette. Stand your ground if you were there first.

Yep. Although the longer stocked trout are in the water, they begin to act more and more "wild". You still have a difference of species, though, as browns act differently than rainbows act differently than brookies and all can, at times, require different tactics.

Generally wild fish are more likely to be spread out, located in feeding lies (current breaks, near fast water but generally in slower water), and tend to be more schedule feeders (only feed during hatches, or at morning/evening, etc.), but when they are feeding they often feed more energetically and steadily. They also tend to spook more easily, and when they spook, they really spook, scoot for cover, and it's like they disappear.

Stocked fish tend to be congregated (often near where stocked), located in holding lies (deep water), and feed opportunistically but more consistently. They are harder to spook, many times they'll just get "sorta" spooked, sulk, and ignore everything, but not totally run for cover.

These are tendencies, not hard and fast rules.