Stocked Trout

V

VFisher

What is the best flies for stocked trout

I'm a novice but I can direct you to this thread on Woolly Buggers:

Woolly Buggers - Techniques

Two other basic patterns are hare's ear and pheasant tail.

You may want to list some specifics such as stream / location and time of day / year.

I had tremendous success this past spring with an elk hair cadiss and a pheasant tail dropper. This was fishing a medium sized lake. Keep in mine I just started fly fishing this past spring, so my advice may not be the best. Happy fishing!

Any fly that will catch a wild trout will catch a stocked trout. You will probably get advice telling you to buy a bunch of gaudy and colorful flies. You can do this, but i would suggest going easy on the eye popping fly pattersn and stock up on the reliable Hare's Ears, Wooley buggers, Pheasant Tails, Caddis Pupae, Etc.

The silly flies will work well early on, but so will these patterns. And when the fish get acclimated and accustomed to eating natural food itesm, these flies will still work well. The eggs, sucker spawn etc, will catch fish like mad early on but lose their magic as the season wears on. The natural looking flies will be more consistent producers IMO. you will also be prepared to fish for wild trout too.

Kev

Might I add: Bead Head Prince Nymph? For me when nothing else gets their attention, I use one of these and more often than not I will have fish on.