Steelhead Rod and Reel

Char_Master

Char_Master

Going to my local field and stream tomorrow evening to (hopefully) pick up a new Steelhead setup for myself for this Fall/Winter season. As weird as this sounds, I've been fly fishing for five years and this will be the first time I've purchased myself a setup. My first fly rod and reel, a 3wt, (which I still use) was a gift from my pap (my mentor) five years ago and my dad's friend gave me a very nice "heavier" setup (6wt) a year after that. After my pap passed last spring, I inherited his massive stockpile of 2-6wt trout rods and click'n'pawl reels so I've been set for a while.

However, he wasn't much of a Steelhead fishermen, not one at all, actually, so I don't think I want to try to rely on my 9' 6wt with a click and pawl reel for massive, feisty rainbows that run like freight trains. I've been fishing for Steelhead for the last two years, but have only been successful trolling on Lakes Erie and Ontario from my boat with spoons and flasher-flies. I really tried to get in to tributary fishing for them last Fall but 8-9 total days on the PA creeks yielded only two fish for me, both of which got off because my rod wasn't heavy enough and the reel was too rigid. I'm hoping that with the tremendous amount of research I've been doing since last Fall on Great Lakes Steelheading that I'll be able to have a more successful season on the creeks this year, so I want to have the proper equipment for landing these fish when I do manage to hook up with one.