Smallmouth newbie help

guidedbywire

guidedbywire

Hi. I hope this is in the right subforum (if not, mods can move it to locations? I guess).

I have a friend visiting Pennsylvania in the third week of June and he's interested in going smallmouth bass fly fishing. Somewhere around the Gettysburg-York-Harrisburg area ideally. (Trying to stay within a couple of hours of D.C. for logistical reasons)

Since I'm new to fly fishing in general and haven't done any fishing specifically for bass, and no fishing of any kind really in that area, I need some help.

1) It's my basic understanding that the susquehanna and its tribs are prime sm bass fishery. Is that a good region for smallmouth? At that time of the year? Are there better options we should be considering?

2) Are there any good smallmouth creeks and rivers on public land in that area so we wouldn't have any issues with access?

3) Can I get by with a 6-weight for smallmouth bass fishing or should I really go up to a 7/8 setup?

4) What sorts of flies work best for bass around there? Is it all just streamers and big buggers and baitfish looking patterns, or what?

I should mention, lakes and boats are not part of our plans. We want wadeable streams.

Thanks in advance for any advice.

I can't help with the local knowledge questions, but I can help with a few:

1) 3rd week of June may be within a few weeks of the spawn. If so, fishing may be very slow. Smallies tend to sukl for a few weeks after they spawn. I had this experience last year at the same time below Kinzua on the Allegheny. It was brutal. However, you are quite a bit south of there. Maybe the post-spawn blues will be done by the 3rd week in June. That and a warmer than average Spring can work in your favor.