Smallie Flies

thebassman

thebassman

Hey Guys,

I am new to the world of tying flies and have just messed around with coming up with stuff....I know for those who are masters of this art could find everything wrond with mine, but I am just curious if you guys think these will catch fish? Maybe one day I will be as good as some of you guys....I see what you guys come up with and they are just stellar patterns....

I hit the water the other day with the goal in ming to use only a fly tied by myself, but I ended up switching to a little popper a few hours into the trip.

001.jpg

this is the fly I tied...I have no clue what I was trying to base this fly off of.

Then i switched to the popper and killed the gills

002.jpg

I ended up tying my fly back on and caught a decent rock bass with it....it was my first fish caught by a fly that I had created.

So today I decided to try and tie a few flies to use to chase after smallies. I attempted to tie two streamer patterns and a crayfish pattern.....and here is the end product.

no weight on this pattern
005.jpg

I added some weight to this one
006.jpg

both streamers are about 3 1/4 to 3 1/2 inches long

Then I tied this.

013.jpg

You guys think these will work for smallies? Any tips on tying would also be appreciated

Bassman, that crayfish looks good,usuualy though you might need a half dozen or so ,when you fish them you will lose quite a few all part of the game.
Tight Wraps & Tight Lines
Rick Wallace

try way less material in your clouser minnows. they should look like a wisp of a minnow, something darting and moving and barely there to provoke the attack out of sheer need to hit it before it flees.

bob clouser himself says that most commercial ties are way too heavy, and that they work best when they're chewed apart and most of the hair is gone.

also, remember the words of one lefty kreh, "ain't no use if there ain't chartreuse."