Skwala?

mute

mute

Anyone toss some money around at this new up and comer? Seems like theyre getting quite the high rep at a very fast pace as far as rain gear and waders go.

Louis Cahill did a piece on their jacket not long ago. I have no first hand knowledge. Jacket

Took a quick peek and man, their stuff is not cheap.

Andy is right. Pricey. I'd probably pony up the money if I knew they'd outlast the usual players. I'm about due for waders so I'm watching from the sidelines.

Looks like Simms and Simms prices minus the Goretex. I guess when they saw Simms selling out to a big company they decided to get in the market producing the stuff in the same town Simms got their start. Not a bad idea but I trust Goretex for that kind of money.

I'm not anti Simms by any stretch, but I think a comparable competing brand is needed in the marketplace. Orvis and Patagonia are viable options but not quite there.

I'm not anti Simms by any stretch, but I think a comparable competing brand is needed in the marketplace. Orvis and Patagonia are viable options but not quite there.
Pantagonia prices last time I checked competed with Simms prices. I don't know how you compete product wise when Simms is the only one using Goretex. To me thats the superior waterproof product that nothing else currently comes close to especially waders.

Pantagonia prices last time I checked competed with Simms prices. I don't know how you compete product wise when Simms is the only one using Goretex. To me thats the superior waterproof product that nothing else currently comes close to especially waders.
The Goretex brand name is secondary to fit and durability for me. I've used other brands of breathable waders, and frankly the "breathability" and durability of the fabrics are all about the same. Particularly after a year or two of use.

I like brand options and right now Simms and Orvis seem to be dominating the market.