Short Strikes on Dry Fly

Letort

Letort

Spent two days on native brookie water. About 2 hrs on first eve and brought 12 to hand and about 1.5 hours second night with 8 in hand.

Something I noticed that was different from past trips - the fish took a rise at the fly, but either missed it or spit it out so quickly that there was no tension when I lifted the rod tip. I have a lot of experience on the stream and usually do not miss this many - probably missed as many as I landed.

I dropped down from the 12 caddis to 14 and 16, thinking that might help with the takes, but no difference.

Any thoughts? While this is native water, it does see some pressure.

Did you fish the exact same stretch of stream 2 days in a row?

If so, you're always going to catch less fish the second time around - especially on small streams. Just the way it is.
Trout don't seem to enjoy getting caught in my experience. And aren't real eager to hit again the 2nd time around.

I usually only fish brookie streams once a year.
And if for some reason I would go back for a 2nd crack, it would be at least a few weeks - or more likely - a month later

A few thoughts:

1) Are you sure you were seeing takes and not last second refusals?

2) Are you caddis patterns Elk Hairs with a full palmered body? I often find that when I fish a palmered dry such as a Renegade, a Bivisible or and EHC that has especially stiff hackles, I'll miss the first ten or so fish on it until the hackle gets crushed a bit. It can act as good hook guard to keep you from accidentally hooking a fish.

3) You mention it being a brookie stream. Sometimes the fish are just too small to take even a size 16, especially when #2 above applies.

4) Some days your timing is just off. It happens.

Fish water that isn't pressured much.

Try terrestrial patterns that make a plop when they hit. Beetles, big ants, inchworms, small crickets.