Shenandoah NP closed for fishing

Perhaps the next tropical storm forming off Florida will bring some relief.

Yes, the forecast is for heavy rain in that area...

Still closed. I would’ve thought the tropical storms would’ve blessed them with some heavy precipitation but guess those mountain ranges are preventing it from happening?
It's been dry river beds with fishing holding out in the occasional pool, there was probably a decent fish kill this year, but there is hope, as I've seen a bunch of minnows in what pools are left.

I wouldn't think of fishing for a few months... typically it doesn't get good again until T'day weekend, but who knows we could get pounded with storms early.

Well, most veterans I know will not fish pre T'Day or later in normal years as spawning is in pre and actual process.
In my personal view, all natural trout streams should be protected during spawning...

I’m relatively new to brook trout fishing in small mountain streams. With limited wading & watching for redds, would it be okay in your opinions to fish from now until about third week October?

A mountain stream I fished last week still had 58 degree temps and not all the fish were brilliant in color yet. This particular stream had above average flow. Usually start bowhunting about week or two prior to November. Was under impression spawning was not fully underway until late October.

I’m relatively new to brook trout fishing in small mountain streams. With limited wading & watching for redds, would it be okay in your opinions to fish from now until about third week October?

A mountain stream I fished last week still had 58 degree temps and not all the fish were brilliant in color yet. This particular stream had above average flow. Usually start bowhunting about week or two prior to November. Was under impression spawning was not fully underway until late October.