Season's over (for me)

N

nOObmaster

Between work travel, upcoming shoulder surgery, my season is coming to an end. i started fishing last year (spin fishing), then this year I started learning fly fishing mid august. One of the reasons i got bored with spin fishing is, the entire set up was so monotonous i started to feel disconnected with it. I get bored if i sit too long in the same spot.

But with fly fishing, it allows me to hike in the mountains [I like hiking], explore new places, learning new things, trying to understand the stream flow, where to cast etc. For example, i see a fast flowing stream water and there is a tiny area i see next to it, where water is moving slowly [next to the current], i caught quiet a few fish in those spots and i was skeptical before but now i understand why. There is a lot to learn but it is a good start. I am learning things by myself [not entirely true, in this day and age, where there is youtube and plethora of information out there]. Experience trumps everything you can learn a lot but when you are out there and try things by yourself it is different.

I went out yesterday evening, ended up with a few browns [All between 11 to 13 inches], it was a good day and a good year.
PS: I handled the fish better this time, and released them quickly after snapping a pic. [still learning]

Fish01

Fish03

Maybe it's just the angle, but that fish seems to have a unique stream-lined form. Reminds me of some paintings of fish from an earlier era.

Nice browns in a nice setting! Glad you got out prior to your surgery, and hope that goes well too.

By the way, you can do all that hiking, exploring, and learning with a spinning rod too. I spin fish more than I fly fish but I can't stand to sit or stay in one spot for too long. There is something more challenging & satisfying when using a fly rod though.

Very nice fish!

Wishing you the best on your upcoming shoulder surgery including a speedy recovery.