Savage River

Tucker733

Tucker733

I have a question for any that knows something about Savage river.

First some information, I talked to man at the Orvis shop about a large rainbow (20+)I caught towards the dam earlier in spring and he told me that a lot of people have been having luck catching big rainbows up there. I found out the rainbow I caught was full of eggs after I picked it up.
Does anyone think rainbows are running up into the Savage to breed and are they successful if they are? Thanks

Tucker,
I am no expert on the Savage, but I fish it a lot. The number of reported rainbows catches in the Savage did increase a good bit last year, and there have been a lot of nice fish caught. I took a 21 incher in January. With regards to reproduction, I think it is likely happening, but I have yet to catch or see any young of the year rainbows caught. I will note that the number of Wild Rainbows in the North Branch has dramatically increased in the past three years, and those fish certainly seek refuge, and run into the Savage from time to time, which may be why the catch rate has increased recently. Personally, I hope the Bows don't take hold in the Savage as a wild fishery, as I like the 80% Brown 20% Brookie dynamic that I have been used to. Nothing against the rainbows, but I fear it will be the brook trout that will suffer if the bows move in.

Thanks for the input. I enjoy the brookies and browns and don't mind the occasional 20+ inch rainbow but I don't think they are good for what the Savage is meant to be.

There have been a lot more rainbows in the savage since the lake has been drained. MDR stocks the lake and upper Savage heavily every year. They have always been present, their just more populated their now.