Salmon net

kobalt335

kobalt335

I'm looking into getting a salmon net for wading. What does anybody use? I see the frabil steelhead and salmon net, but it seems on the smaller side. I think I'd prefer a longer handle, but unfortunately some people aren't trustworthy enough anymore to leave it on the bank.

And yes, I know pros and cons to using a net. I've been fishing without a net for salmon for a few years and have landed my share. However now my dad started going with me, and my kids are starting to get older so the situation is changing.

I find when fishing alone the easiest way for me to control and land the fish is with a wet wool glove.
I find long handed nets cumbersome to carry and very awkward to control the fish and get the fish into the net.

CRB wrote:
I find when fishing alone the easiest way for me to control and land the fish is with a wet wool glove.
I find long handed nets cumbersome to carry and very awkward to control the fish and get the fish into the net.

Normally I'd agree, however I'm very hesitant to grab a NY fish even with a glove on because I've went to tail a fish and ended up with a hook in my own hand. I landed a salmon one time with 10 different hooks in it.

This may be a dumb suggestion but IF a glove would work but hooks are the issue, what about a cut resistant or a mesh glove used in the food service industry?

There are options with Kevlar and other materials and the metal mesh type as well. I use a metal mesh glove when shucking oysters and I swear buy its protection. Just search for "cut resistant gloves" and you will see what I mean.

If not, you may want to take a look at folding or telescoping nets made by McLean Angling in New Zealand but sold here in the USA via the website I linked to.

Absolutely not the cheapest choice out there but the best in regards to quality with LOTS of options including nets that fold, telescope manually or automatically and others that will weigh your catch.