Rod choice

J

Javelin389t

Looking for some advice on what fly rods to buy. Thinking of buying 2 universal rods. I currently have an 8’6 , 4 wt. I fish streams anywhere from 5ft wide and up. I guess question is, can I get by with just 2 more rods for now? Use for drys, nymphs , wets etc. I have been trying to get back into fly fishing on and off the last couple of years. I’m not that good at casting. Also I prefer 2 piece rods. I’ve noticed they are difficult to find in stores.

You won't tell the difference between 2 and 4 PC like in the past. If you're just fishing trout and panfish, your current rod will handle most situations. I got by for 20 years with a 7'-3/4 wt and 9ft 5/6 wt. Both 2pc. I mainly use only my 4pc 5wt and occasionally for bass/Steelhead a 4pc 10ft 7wt. I would use my lighter rod more but just haven't been on that small water recently.

Javelin389t:

I could fish effectively anywhere I go with a 7'0" or 7'6" rod, an 8'0" rod and a 9"0" rod...

You'll get a lot of opinions but I got by with just two rods for a LONG time and IMHO an 8'6" 4wt is good start.

A couple of questions:

1. Do you feel hemmed in at smaller streams with the 8"6" rod and does this happen often?​
2. Do you wish you had something longer at the bigger places and does this happen often?​
3. Are you JUST fishing for trout?​
4. Do you have any plans to do the tight-lining thing?​

If the answer to #1 is YES & YES, consider a 7'6" rod.

If the answer to #2 is YES & YES, consider a 9'0" or longer rod?

If the answer to #3 is YES, consider 3, 4 or 5wt rods.

If the answer to #4 is YES, ask someone else as that's not my area of expertise. ;)

In regards to two piece rods, I own several two piece rods. I like them a LOT, a few were not available in anything other than two pieces and there are some rods that don't feel the same in a 3, 4 or 5 piece version, just ask any rod DESIGNER who makes their own blanks or ferrules their own rods.