Recently moved to Philadelphia looking for good trout streams

teebs4140

teebs4140

Hi all,

I am a novice fly fisherman at best. However I am dedicated to learning and becoming a better angler. I recently moved down from Vermont and I was hoping to get some insight on where to go and what dry flies/nymphs/wet flies etc work best for the area. I live in Manayunk and I have a vehicle so traveling an hour or so isn't a problem. Any advice on locations and or flies would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks for your time,

Dylan

Wissahickon creek is right there. It's stocked but fishes well for trout early in the season. Later into the summer it's got all of the usual warm water species. Nice stream considering the area, park off of Bell Mills road.

Thanks! Is the fishing better upstream or downstream from Bell Mills

Go west young man, to Valley Creek in Valley Forge Park, which is actually close to you. There be wild brown trout there, and its just about sulphur season - insane in the evenings. Search this site for what will no doubt be a plethora of reports.

Many travel up to the Little Lehigh in Allentown, there's the Tulpehocken in Reading to explore. This is a great site and others will chime in momentarily I am sure.

Ned, can you take me out to see this insane sulphur hatch on valley? I must always miss it.

Valley Creek is a great stream, but a tough one for the novice. It is the best local bet for stream bred fish though. There are a number of stocked streams that will provide easier fishing within an hour. Ridley and Chester creek in Del Co. both fish well with flies until it warms up, as do French Creek and White Clay in Chester County, providing they have good water. The USGS link here is handy for figuring out when the waters will be fishable. Takes a little time to learn what the flows mean on each stream but a great tool!