Penn State research on brook trout

redrockgrizzly

redrockgrizzly

Fisherman needed for research

https://youtu.be/9ZUGDIUh1Ak

Thanks for sharing the video!

Thanks for sharing, I passed the link along to a few local members of TU.

Interesting research. (Those of us who are technically challenged would not be able to participate in this manner.) Anyhow, it looks like a worthwhile project.

gray card requested. Sarah is a talented biologist and it will be interesting to see the outcome of her study.

Thanks, now if I could only catch a brook trout

I ordered a few cards, but trying to figure out how the geographical location of a fish, it's size and color tone provides enough data to preserve a resource. No, I'm not a scientist

Not a biologist either, but my interpretation of efforts like this is: Different color tones and size/shape of body, spot patterns, etc could be a result of subtle genetic differences, and if certain features are more common in one area of the state those fish may have different genes that make them better adapted to the environment in those areas.

As for how you apply that knowledge to conserving the species, it could be as simple as taking hardier strains and using them to shore up populations in decline. For example maybe SE PA brookies can tolerate warmer water and those genes could be intentionally mixed into mountain populations as water temps warm in decades to come and the mountain strains of fish begin to struggle. It's likely not that simple, and I hope I'm not doing a disservice to the real science here with that example.

I'm interested to see what comes of this project and signed up to participate.

BREAKING NEWS: PSU Justifies taking pictures of EVERY 4" brook trout you catch.

I kid.

Or do I?

PennKev wrote:
BREAKING NEWS: PSU Justifies taking pictures of EVERY 4" brook trout you catch.

I kid.

Or do I?

Well played Kev.
:lol: