Patagonia Nano Puff pants

R

RufusFirefly

Has anyone tried wearing a pair of Patagonia Nano Puff pants under waders? I am thinking of getting something to wear in between my base layer to keep my legs warm. I usually just avoid the really cold days. If you have a favorite layering system for really cold wading, please mention your setup.

I have a nano puff vest and a nano puff pull over. I looked at the pants but I'm afraid they may be too warm. The primaloft stuff works very well. I worry these things may be just too hot.
I'm interested if anyone else has tried them. I've been sewing my fleece pants for a few years and I will be making a purchase in the next month or so.

Simms makes a nice fleecey lined pant that I picked up at Somerset for cold weather. Not as heavily insulated as the puffy pants, but figuring they'll be plenty warm with a base layer.

The Simms are plenty warm. You need air to make the Patagonia really shine.

I wear those fleece pants over mid weight capaline longies. It just does the job belly button deep in the west branch at Hendrickson time. I'm thinking of those nano puff pants or the expedition weight capaline bottoms. I take a pill for the heart that makes me feel the cold but it's hard to concentrate on fishing when your cold. Your wise to pursue this.

I just wear a pair of fleece pants over my capilene bottoms if its really cold. I should've pulled the trigger on the dwr fleece lined pant they used to make.

As an aside, the new "midweight" capilene that replaced the 2 and 3 is very nice.

The Reddington fleece waders pants are great. I'm horrible with the cold but I don't have to worry about my legs at all.

I'm low rent......fleece PJ bottoms from TJ Max for $10.