Para Adams

• Thread starter FishingCreekEmerger
  • Start date
FishingCreekEmerger

FishingCreekEmerger

Hey guys I posted this on FB too so sorry if you already saw it. I know the Adams is one of the most popular dry patterns that works really well. I try not to use attraction patterns for dry fishing. I refuse to use the traditional Adams! I did however attempt to reinvent the wheel so to speak. I fell in love with klinkhammers a few years ago. I have since matched all my hatches with a klink version with amazing results. So I started to play around with my own Adams variant. What do you think? Please be honest! I will admit to one flaw here. I was so worried about doing the para wing nicely that I forgot to dub the fly before lying the wing. So the dubbing job does look funny because of a missed step.

Attachments

• IMG_20130131_013050.jpg
    IMG_20130131_013050.jpg
    71.4 KB · Views: 25
Looks great. I'm new to tying, so I can't really comment on quality and things of that nature, but that will certainly catch some fish.

Im a sucker got any biot bodied emerger so I am an immediate fan. Ive been tying up a bunch of simple emergers lately simply with pheasant tail bodies, a thorax to match the hatch, snowshoe hair and a trailing shuck. Flies look great, just pinch the barb. I usually wait till i use the fly on the water to do this as well when I tie in quantities.

Biots are so much easier then quills. I plan on attending the Lancaster show. I will check every package of polish quills just to make sure I get the longest and thickest that I can find. :)

They look good. Polish quills, huh? Will have to check them out. Thanks for sharing.

Well Brad as I stated I don't like using attracter patters for dries. That one seems to be the most used. Plus I also like to stick to original recipes. That being said, I personally won't waste hackle tips or cree hackle on that fly. Cree was the original grizzley back in the day. I guess to sum it up, I'm a weirdo! :)