PA Opening Day

mcwillja

mcwillja

I am a long time PA resident and have been living in NY now for about 15 years and for the life of me i can't understand why the opening day of trout season is April 1st ( I agree 100%) and PA has a later opening day. PA opening day should be no later than April 1st. In warmer springs there are hatches already going on now in PA. Can someone please tell me why PA has a later opening than NY?

The majority of opening day chasers don't even know what a hatch is.. But even if they did, warmer/colder springs probably average out to the date that opening day is. From my purely anecdotal experience, it seems like a pretty standard bell curve of really cold weather (snow, even), really warm weather (75 degrees and sunny) and a good chunk in between.

Regional opening day is this Saturday (southeastern part of the state), so before April 1. Normal opening day is always the first Saturday after April 11, because, that's what they've done for the past few whiles :)

I think the respective regional dates are reasonable averages of when the weather turns and is consistently halfway decent, most days, most years. Late March/early April in PA can run the gamut though.

We usually go to camp (Potter Co.) the first week in April for a Spring work trip, and to help with the local stockings of the creeks near the cabin. My Dad and I have stayed a couple extra days the last few years to try to fish the special regs areas, but the weather's been garbage. VERY cold, below freezing, and snowy more often than not. VERY high flows too. We've ended up not fishing much, and when we did, the conditions were rough. We bailed on that this year and are just going up for a couple days to do a little work and help stock. Figured it makes more sense to save the couple extra vacation days for better weather/conditions.