Orvis fly fishing shcool

FFChineseman

FFChineseman

I have been doing ff for about three years and catch my fair share of fish alone the way. However, I also developed some bad habits and really want to improve my skill on mending the line (presentation).

Have any of you attend the Orvis fly fishing school? Do you think it is worth the money? I am thinking to go one in VT. It has great reviews, but I just want to ask around before i put my money in it.
:-o :-o

If you have the money, I think it would be worth it. You may be able to line up lessons from a local instructor for less money and learn on your local waters. I have always thought the "retreat" type of school could be a lot of fun, but I would never justify the expense to myself. I'd rather buy some expensive bourbon for a year than drink the cheap stuff I do now. :cool:

Have never taken a class but think it would be worthwhile if the dough is not a concern. There are numerous schools/classes in PA.

For example; Joe Humphries (I beleive a few other teachers are there as well) is involved in a school at Allenberry on the Breeches in the spring. Flyfisher's Paradise in State College offers clssses in the spring. FFP also can line you up with several expert teachers. Actually most fly shops offer casting/ FF schools or seminars.

Eric Stroup or Charlie Meck also might be worth doing a web search for one of their schools.

You could probably go so far as find a expert for the streams in your area and the type of fishing you would like to improve on.

Lastly, you could probably also take a destination "class/school" trip, which again, if the dough is not a concern would be a blast.

i hear good things about the classes they have at the sporting gentleman in media. the woman who runs it was beyond nice and helpful and the staff are great and really know what theyre talking about.

FFC,