New to Nymphing

Baron

Baron

I wasn't having any luck in catching trout in the Matin's Creek. I hadn't even gotten a hit. Everyone said "well use a Wooly Bugger".........Junk. Never even a hit in a whole year.....One LMB.
Last week a gentleman walked up and asked how I was making out and I said "terrible". "Never caught a trout ever after a year of trying." He said he could help me out and handed over some of the plainest looking and miniature Nymphs and on my first cast I had hits. Hits developed into many more and then a score.
I'm new to fly fishing and am wondering, will these Nymphs be good all year or do I have to switch to the adult version of them as they develop during spring and summer.
The flies were as follows: 16 Prince, 16 or smaller Flashback Pheasant Tail and 14 Zug Bug.

Baron wrote:
I wasn't having any luck in catching trout in the Matin's Creek. I hadn't even gotten a hit. Everyone said "well use a Wooly Bugger".........Junk. Never even a hit in a whole year.....One LMB.
Last week a gentleman walked up and asked how I was making out and I said "terrible". "Never caught a trout ever after a year of trying." He said he could help me out and handed over some of the plainest looking and miniature Nymphs and on my first cast I had hits. Hits developed into many more and then a score.
I'm new to fly fishing and am wondering, will these Nymphs be good all year or do I have to switch to the adult version of them as they develop during spring and summer.
The flies were as follows: 16 Prince, 16 or smaller Flashback Pheasant Tail and 14 Zug Bug.

There really are no "magic" flies that work all the time but those are some really good flies to keep in your box and fish.

One of the mistakes I see with many beginner FFers when I peek into their fly boxes is they tend to use big flies and shy away from smaller ones. Your friend did you a favor by giving you some smaller flies to fish.