New to fly tying

B

BTflyman

Hello fellow fly fishermen! I am going to start tying my own flies and need a little advice. I am going to be self taught and I have a few books and of course the web to help me out. I have materials and tools to get started. My question is if you were to tell me say 4-5 flies to start with that are not super difficult what would they be? (I tied a San juan worm already WOO HOO! LOL)
Any info would help! Hope to get out this weekend w/ the weather...anyone interested I will be on the Lehigh Valley streams.

San Juan
Green Weenie
Chenelle Fly
Brassie

For a dry I would say Renegade

Hare's Ear nymphs and pheasant tails. You will probably lose alot of them if you fish bottom, both are cheap, many people find them very easy.

The woolly bugger is your all purpose streamer, and very easy.

Learning to tie a parachute dry fly would do well. Well, any dry fly. YMMV on which one you like.

The LL Bean store in the Promanade Mall has a 26 week, all free, class. It starts again in March. Walks you from rank beginner to reasonably competent or better. I would suggest it. Call or stop in and ask.

My list was based off number of materials and way they are secured to the hook.

the number of materials and the way they are put on the hooks (like dubbing) make it frustrating to a true beginner.

Flies like weenies and brassies allow for a beginner to learn thread control and tension, boddy proportions, hand-over-hand, and fly finishing (without the materials coming unwound).

The renagade is a good dry because it is the basic of dry fly hackling.

I would go as far to say flies like prince nymphs and zug bugs are too difficult for the beginner fly tyer. Not saying you shouldn't try them, but there re many more things to do/consider while tying these patterns.

Actually, I think I answered it poorly.

Learn to tie the flies you use. Period. Buy the materials you need, and begin to practice on them.