New guy from Western PA

TroutKilla

TroutKilla

Greeting from Ohio. I live two minutes from the boarder right next to Bessemer PA. I have always been an avid fisherman but never fly fishing. I always fish the lakes for trout and streams but once again never fly fishing. I tried fly fishing for the first time last year but knew nothing about the sport. So i decided to read as many books and watch as many videos as i possibly can over the winter to kill some time. I am dying to learn how to get the casting and basics down and i feel that i got a pretty good grip on most of it. I even went as far as starting to tie my own flies this winter. (once again an utmost beginner).

I was wondering if anybody around the western PA area gives lessons or is willing to go out for a day. I am dying to get out and learn because it seems very fun. Every time i ask about lessons someone tells me to head straight to the fly shop for lessons. Being a college student i can quite afford $100 lesson for four hours. Other than the fly shop i know of no one with a fly fishing background.

Thanks for the help and as always "Have a Nice Day"

Welcome to PAFF, if the other side of the state is anything like this side of the state (and I'm sure it is), you'll get the help you requested.

Tight Lines!

Foxgap239 wrote:
Welcome to PAFF, if the other side of the state is anything like this side of the state (and I'm sure it is), you'll get the help you requested.

Tight Lines!
I agree with Foxgap. Welcome to the forum. I do have a question though. Are you really a "Trout Killer"? I just wondered. Alot of the fellas on here practice catch and release esp. for wild trout.

I live an hour and a half from the ohio border. Maybe if i get a chance, i can give you some pointers. My best advice is start out at a farm pond and catch blue gills until you get comfortable.

I got you covered!