Need help finding freshwater mussels from fellow fishermen!

D

direstrats220

Hi everyone, I am a graduate student conducting research in stream water quality in watersheds in PA. We're looking at the effects of increased salinization, industrial, commercial, and agricultural runoff, and discharge from treatment facilities on the quality of our PA streams and rivers. I work mostly in western and central PA, from the allegheny reservoir all the way down to the raystown branch of the juniata. Most of my time fishing is spent on smaller streams chasing little native brookies, which is one reason I need YOUR help.

I am currently looking for samples of mussels/mussel shells (recently killed or still alive) in waterways that do NOT have treatment plants discharging hydraulic fracturing wastes. This disqualifies blacklick creek and most stretches of the allegheny all the way from allegheny national forest down to where it crosses RT 80. The reason I need YOUR help is that it can be super difficult to find them even on bodies of water that we know have mussels. Often there are long 1/4 mile stretches that yield 0 specimens, only to stumble across a muskrat/raccoon refuse pile and get ~10-20 great samples. Often I end up going back to my car freezing cold, covered in mud with numb hands and not a single mussel! We've had some success with sampling on muddy banks near bends where sediment is deposited, but it typically takes an entire day to travel to the sites and sample, and its very frustrating to spend that time/money for no payoff.

So my question for you all is, do you know any stretches of river or stream that you recall seeing a lot of mussels on? If so let know where, it would be a great help.

The Juniata River from McVeytown to Lewistown has plenty of mussel shells all summer long when I float it. I don't really recall a spot that I haven't seen them.