NBK Sculpin Variant ( Happy New Year Edition! ) ;-)

• Thread starter salvelinusfontinalis
  • Start date
salvelinusfontinalis

salvelinusfontinalis

I am by no means an expert tier and I'm sure this fly can be improved but here is a sculpin I have been tying. I tested the NBK Sculpin from Orvis on the famous spring creeks here in PA. I never tested it on Falling Spring but found that it works on Big Spring. The wary brown trout of the Letort would not close the deal on this fly. IMO too much flash and unrealistic colors make it just too fake. Its a simple pattern to tie so it needed improved in my book. Here is what I came up with.

The Original Fly

Material List For Mine

#4 Daiichi Streamer Hook
1 Pseudo Eye Nickel and Chartreuse Color
.035 Lead Wire
Black Barred Rabbit Strip Olive Variant
Wooly Bugger Chenille, Medium in Sculpin Olive
Rabbit Half Skin Zonked in Olive
Olive and Black Marabou
4 strands of Sili Legs Black/Blue Flake
A few strands of Crystal Flash in Chartreuse
Olive Thread

Lay a good thread base on your hook. Tie in the Black Barred Rabbit Strip Olive Variant tale upside down onto the hook. Add a few strands of Chartreuse Crystal Flash.
Pic 1

Next Add a flank of Olive Marabou on each side of the tail
Pic2

Now ad some Black Marabou over the upside down tail. Add a drop of glue.
Pic3

Pull the tail and remove the excess skin from the tail. DO NOT CUT THE RABBIT FUR!
See exccess?
Finished Cut

Tie in the Wooly Bugger Chenille, Medium in Sculpin Olive so it will be ready to wrap but dont wrap the hook yet. Work thread to front and tie in the 1 Pseudo Eye Nickel and Chartreuse Color. Leave plenty of room for material in the front of the hook. Add .035 Lead from behind the eye to the tail material build up. Wrap the lead tight and even and when it starts to climb the hump of material at the tail, cut it off.
Pic4