Movies or shows with great looking water

D

DavidFin

I'm watching this World War II movie, Defiance, and I keep getting sidetracked by how great the rivers look.

A River runs through it- okay,cheating--lol

What about the movie/novel "Deliverance?"

I think that I am somewhat of an expert on the south since I have a combined 19 years worth of experience having lived in New Iberia, Louisiana and Greensboro, North Carolina.

I lived in Greensboro a lot longer than I did in New Iberia. I was a traveling salesman with a big territory(North and South Carolina, Tennessee, and Virginia).

The movie, "Deliverance" was filmed on the Chatooga(sp?) River. I know right where it is. Headwaters in NC and it borders NE Georgia/NW South Carolina.

As many of you might know. I am a canoe tripper. I would rather go on a canoe trip than a fly fishing trip.

I have recruited fellow board member, mkerr, for my next canoe adventure. This canoe trip will be on Virginia's Appomattox River. Both of us have no experience there, but that is about to change.

I am doing my research now and will know when we need to be on that river when the striped bass are moving upstream to spawn out of Lake Chesdin.

mkerr is going to have a great time on a canoe trip with me. This is all private property so we may not be allowed to camp, but I am sure we can make day trips happen.

I read the novel "Deliverance" when I was home for Christmas break during my Freshman year at Juniata College. Our family had just moved from Cumberland County(Camp Hill) to Bucks County(Newtown).

I didn't know anybody there so I started to read "Deliverance" to fall asleep. The novel was so intense that I couldn't put it down until I finished it in the wee hours of the morning. The movie was nowhere near as good as the novel.

The water in the movie looked really good to me.