Monster Brown on Little Lehigh

J

jazz

A 18 lb Brown was found dead in the Little Lehigh recently as reported in the Allentown Morning Call.I did n't see the article as I was out of town when it ran last week.That's all I know and was wondering if anyone out there had more info.

Interesting. I've been fishing the LL every couple weeks for the last two years and haven't seen or caught any browns. Last weekend I was above the Heritage section and caught several rainbows in the 12 inch range. Even with 7X tipped I didn't have any problems landing and horsed them out rather quickly instead of playing them out. (A bad habit I get from bass fishing.) Then I hooked into a fish that at first I thought was a similar rainbow. I started to horse it out and then realized it was larger. The fish came up and rolled and of course the tippet broke but I could see it was not a rainbow and was about 18". Looked a bit like a brown but since I hadn't seen any browns in the area I was thinking maybe a carp. Just wondering if others are catching browns above the Heritage section? I have seen browns in Cedar Creek so I would expect then to be in the lower LL. As a short side question, has anyone fished Trout Creek in Allentown?

There are quite a few Browns,stocked and native,thru-out the Little Lehigh but they are generally more selective than the stocked Rainbows that you caught.That larger fish that you lost was probably a Brown,there are not many carp in that stream.
It's been a looong time since I fished Trout Creek,if you try it pack a gun that's not a nice place anymore.