MD Brook Trout - Catoctin water temp study

sarce

sarce

A few years ago I got together with my local DC-area TU chapter and launched an effort to study summer water temps on Catoctin Mountain brook trout streams. Given all the brook trout conservation talk on the site lately, I wanted to share the study findings. You can view an abridged report at the link below, which also includes a link to a PDF download of the full report.
NCC-TU

I'll caveat this report with the following:
- we only analyzed one summer's worth of data. In academic circles that would be considered limited sample size.
- none of the volunteers who did this project are fisheries biologists or ecologists or climate scientists. I'm an engineer by day. I caution anyone from taking anything said here as gospel. But I would like to think it's still very interesting and informative. Especially since there was a pretty big data hole around these small Catoctin Mountain brook trout streams.
- given that we are all volunteers doing this for free, the data analysis isn't all that rigorous - but I will toot our horn for putting in a ton of work to collect the data. It's also been shared with DNR and they've made use of it for some internal initiatives.

Hope you all enjoy!

A few years ago I got together with my local DC-area TU chapter and launched an effort to study summer water temps on Catoctin Mountain brook trout streams. Given all the brook trout conservation talk on the site lately, I wanted to share the study findings. You can view an abridged report at the link below, which also includes a link to a PDF download of the full report.
NCC-TU

I'll caveat this report with the following:
- we only analyzed one summer's worth of data. In academic circles that would be considered limited sample size.