Lumbar/Chest Pack suggestions

troutpoop

I'm looking for a medium sized lumbar chest pack. Anyone have any good or bad experiences I should know about? I usually carry two fly boxes and the other assorted tools and gadgets. I don't want or need a full sized vest or monster sized back.

Watch all the manufacture's sites over then next few months. You can usually find something you can live with heavily discounted in the fall.

I'll have my eyes open.

http://www.fishpondusa.com/blueriver.cfm

I have been using this pack for a few years. I like it very much.

I used to have a chest pack but did not like all of my gear in my casting space. I recently switched to the Orvis sling pack. It is a pretty simple pack and it slings around your back so when you don't need access to anything it is behind you. I have been very pleased and the price point is much cheaper than any of the fishpond type packs.

It does not have all the bells and whistles, but it actually forces me to carry less crap with me which I have come to appreciate a few hours into my day. My only wish would be a water bottle sling on the bottom.

I saw the Orvis Pack and the LL Bean pack. Both looked interesting but the Orvis was cheaper. They both look a bit bigger than the lumber packs though?

Over the years, I've had the traditional vest, then to a backpack with front chest packs on each side, then to a Fishpond pack with back and center packs and FINALLY found what works for me. I purchased this and couldn't be happier. It has room for water bottles/coffee thermos and everything else I could possibly want to carry, I can even fit a jacket in there with a few fly boxes. It is a little bigger than some, but it works for me. It can also be worn as a chest pack or sling if I wanted to.

If you're looking for lumbar support, you might want to check out the Havana which is pretty similar to the Blue Water that Bruno referenced. Simms also makes similar packs that are probably worth checking out.