Looking for opinions on Steelhead/ Salmon rod

CLizow

CLizow

Hey all, I've been battling chrome in the tribs of Lake Erie for about 5 years now and the girlfriend wants to put down the spinning rod and give fly fishing a go. I was going to give her the ll bean 9' 8wt I've been using and upgrade my outfit.

I've heard good things about both Orvis and Cabelas rod/reel combos and was wondering if you could help me make a decision as to which outfit to purchase from your experiences with their products.

The options are the Orvis Clearwater 10' 8wt or the Cabelas LSi/Prestige 9'9" 8wt.

The Cabelas comes in at around $100 less, but not being familiar with their products, I don't know how "inferior" it would be next to the Clearwaterby Orvis.

Any and all input is greatly appreciated

Cheers,
Collin

I'm really out of the loop on the gear these days. Been using the same rods for 10 years or more now.

Couple things-

If your just going to use it in Erie- not gonna matter that much cause your basically just roll casting and nymphing. Do they have warranties? If not, I'd probably get a cheap road.

Have an Orvis 9 foot 8 weight and has a decent Orvis reel that I can use in saltwater. So I get decent mileage out of it.

If I was just getting a Erie specific rod I would get a 10 foot 7 weight- more reach for nymphing and longer rod to play the fish.

http://www.llbean.com/llb/shop/70537?feat=2136-GN2&page=streamlight-ultra-four-piece-fly-rod-outfits-7-9-wt&attrValue_0=Green&productId=1141887

Here is an LL Bean setup that would probably fall in between the two costs, and they have lifetime warranty. Can't comment on the performance though.

(When I went on their site a 10% off thing popped up too so you could save yourself 24 bucks.)

I have a 9' 7 wt Orvis Clearwater for steelies and I love it. I would highly recommend them also because there's a 25 year warranty so no worries.