lines

W

wilson24

there are so many lines out there im not a pro i do a lot of steelhead since i live in erie like 5 min from 12 mile i have a 6 wt st croix what is a good but reasonably priced line. also for trout what is a good brand in a 5 wt thanks for your help

Wilson,
I just picked up some Cortland peach 444 5wt Floating at half price at Gander M. in Erie. :) I think they had some others.

A Double taper or steelhead taper will help in roll casting.

off topic but wher is ther to trout fish close to home after the first month of stocking all you get is the fingerlings. new to erie only been here year also new to site if i need to repost question somewher else let me know thanks

As to your fly line question, on 5 wts.
In 28 years of fly fishing, I've probably spooled up every type, brand and dimension of fly lines, at one time or another but have just recently come across one of the newest and most innovative fly lines I've seen in years.............. the Air-Flo "Ridge-Line" 5WF Floating.
Unlike any fly line on the market, today, this line........when cut in a cross section actually looks like a "star", not a round "tube", and that's the secret behind the great shootability of this line and it's lack of surface area to pick up algae and dirt like round, conventional, lines do. I've spooled up 3 wts. of this line now, and love everyone of them for their ability to stay cleaner and cast much farther, with the same amount of effort!
Give one a try, you won't be dissapointed!

I'll second the "ridge-line"! I have it on my 3wt, and just love it. There's days when I can't make a bad cast with, almost like its an extension of my arm.
JH