Levels of fishermen

BREECHESANGLER

BREECHESANGLER

What is your opinions on the levels of fly fishermen? What is a beginner? An experienced fisherman? An expert?

Obviously a gray area. I would measure it compared to their peers. Note, by peers, I mean other fishermen that fish in the same time and place.

Beginner - consistently does worse than the average fly fisherman for that time and place.

Experienced - Regularly on par with the average fly fisherman for that time and place.

Expert - Regularly does better than the average fly fisherman for that time and place.

I'd also note that an expert at, say, chasing hatches on central Pennsylvania limestoners in May can simultaneously be a complete beginner on say, fishing for stripers in the salt. Not very many are experts at all things fly fishing.

Some well rounded fishermen attempt to become "experienced" in a large number of situations, but typically such an approach makes it difficult to reach expert levels in any one. Others want to expertize in one situation, which typically leaves them lacking in others. Neither is better or worse, it's just what you want to do.

Those that ask questions - Beginner
Those that give the correct answer - Expert

following up on Pcray-
if you know where,when and how to catch the fish you are after,set out confident you will hit em..and you do ,you are pretty danged good in your own mind anyway.
If you get skunked its the poachers,the moon's,and or the stupid fishes fault.

pete nailed it - everyones an expert, its never your fault if you don't catch fish!

Part of it is to know your never get skunked....It's always called practice.

f you know where,when and how to catch the fish you are after,set out confident you will hit em..and you do ,you are pretty danged good in your own mind anyway.

That's the other end of it, lol. My post talked about comparing yourself to others in the same time and place.