Letort spots

Wildfish

Wildfish

Hey guys,

Spending a lot of time near Letort into the fall. I usually fish it near the mouth. Haven't had much luck further upstream along the Letort Spring path (TU property, right?). Tons of mosquitoes up there make me fish it too quickly. Any spots I should check out in between?

Generally I pick up a couple small fish on top in slow water and a few larger fish underneath in faster water. No luck getting larger fish on the surface yet.

Wildfish wrote:
Any spots I should check out in between?

Yes - all of it (Most folks avoid the town but there are spots there too)....but don't expect to find the best "spot" where there are always rising fish or some other unrealistic expectation. Don't expect to master Letort with a handful of trips. I've been hitting it for 30 years, and many folks around here for many more years than that......and it still has me scratching my head and discovering new angles and characteristics of this amazing stream.

Pay your dues, keep exploring, and forget about "spots" or shortcuts.

Remember......it's Letort.

Yeah, I'm not expecting miracles. Just not sure about access. The TU property (or whoever owns the area along and after the path) is clearly fishable, but I haven't had much luck there. Shallow water, weeds, no fish rising--basic Letort stuff. Then there is moving water right before the mouth. Seems like a lot of backyards and town property in between. Are there other well known fishable areas that one would/should check out? Not secret spots, just the basic "this is the Letort" sections? Don't want to knock on doors to ask for access.

Precious little of the Letort is posted, and that has never once been an issue in my fishing there.
One year I do best in a section, the next I do best in a different section.
The backyard section you refer to towards the mouth near the sports complex is fine. Just stay towards the creek. Very nice folks if they happen to be out.