Leader curling...

Classical

Classical

Hello everyone! I'm new to the forum, but have been reading for a while. I'm also new to fly fishing and I'm getting in practice with casting in the back yard with some success. My question though is not covered on the DVD that I am watching before I practice!

My question is about the leader. After I cast, my 7.5f leader is curled up most of the time as it lands. The line is pretty straight (when I do it right), but the end is not very inspiring. I have learned that sometimes when fishing that's fine, as the drift will be better for the fly on a bunched up leader. But I wonder why this so often happens to me.

So, is having a straight leader at the end of a cast my goal for most casts? Could my leader's curling be a result of a casting error on my part?

(And if it might help, I have tried to straighten out the leader after taking it from the package.)

Thanks for any help! This is a great forum.

An abrupt stop at the end of a cast (as you should do) is why you get the slack in the leader. As you said, it can be a good thing. If you are using a nymph it allow the fly to sink vertically rather then being pulled back toward you as a taught line would. With a dry your fly will float longer before it starts to drag. I wouldn't change a thing.

Wow, I feel better already!

I have spent much time working my sudden stop of the rod on the forward cast. Once I got over the desire to overuse my wrist and arm in vain attempts to 'force' it out, I really improved what I was doing.

Your leader not straightening out at the end of your cast could be a result not enough energy (speed/power) to fully extend your line all the way to the fly, or quite the opposite, too much energy in the forward cast and the leader straightens and whips back. Also it's possible you may be making you forward cast before the line completely straightens out behind you, and the leader whips around and does not lay out straight.