Laurel Hill/Indian Creek on Good Friday

B

BTRobertson

My wife and I are planning on fishing these two streams early to mid-afternoon this coming Good Friday if anyone's interested. Not sure of FF-only regs on the stretches we'll be fishing except that Indian Creek is not FF-only where we go. Last year, it wasn't pressured at all and we caught plenty on butterworms and spinning tackle. Gonna try my hand at nymphing it or even dries if the water is warm enough and the rain doesn't create high water.

I've never fished Laurel Hill near that same area (out route 31 near Somerset Co.), but it's a great stream from what I've heard and read about it.

Anyone want to join in or give general advice, please feel free either way. I'm a newbie, so any words of wisdom are appreciated for those who have fished those waters.

Attachments

• Indian Creek.jpg
    Indian Creek.jpg
    133.3 KB · Views: 15
  • Indian Creek Trout 2013.jpg
    Indian Creek Trout 2013.jpg
    142.3 KB · Views: 7
Just a suggestion... You may want to leave out the photo of the slaughtered trout next time asking advice on other's local waters.

You may get a better response.

I was glad to see someone is slaughtering trout, but still had nothing useful to share. There are lots of places on Laurel Hill Creek and Indian Creek, where slaughtering trout is to be encouraged.

JackM wrote:
There are lots of places on Laurel Hill Creek and Indian Creek, where slaughtering trout is to be encouraged.

care to elaborate?

Anywhere that it is stocked but not delayed harvest.

I'm not sure why killing trout the third week of April would be encouraged by anyone who has an interest in catching fish there.