Killing chickens for Hackle

jifigz

jifigz

I've been maintaining flocks of chickens now for the past 6 years or so and I'm wondering if anyone here has any experience harvesting feathers from your own flocks? I noticed that even Murray McMurray offers a "Fly Tyer's Special" which is meant to provide good chickens for this purpose. I have Australorp, Orpington, and Rhode Island Red roosters which all look like they may have some prime feathers on them. I can just picture their saddles tying me great dry flies.

I did this once about twenty years ago. A buddy and I bought a few birds from a farmer who had a few older roosters. I think we spent $6. And they threw in a dozen eggs too.

We ended up with some fair wet fly and streamer hackle and chicken that was a wee bit too tough for soup. I buy my hackle at the fly shop, but it was fun.

Hackles for dry flies are specially cultivated. If you grab a couple chickens so bred, you could supply yourself and all your friends for life. Get ones with light brown capes or saddles.

JackM wrote:
Hackles for dry flies are specially cultivated. If you grab a couple chickens so bred, you could supply yourself and all your friends for life. Get ones with light brown capes or saddles.

I'm well aware that chickens have been bred to increase their likelihood of having good feathers for fly tying, just as humans have favorably altered many things to be better at a specific purpose. This doesn't mean roosters not bred for this can't supply good feathers. I'm sure it is much more hassle than it's worth, but that black Australorp's saddle looks mighty tempting.

It largely depends on what you want to tie with the birds you are raising and how much novelty/entertainment/achievement value you place on raising your own hackle.