kayak fishing spots on the Juniata

S

SanMan

hello all...I'm still pretty new to the PAFF forum so forgive me if this has been asked before...I did some searching but couldn't find exactly what I was looking for.

Also, I'm not looking to get any info on anyone's secret spots or anything but general info would be appreciated.

I just pulled the trigger on a new fishing kayak and will be trying some small-mouth fishing from it in the Juniata river. I will be fishing alone a lot and would like to find some spots that I could relatively easily paddle upstream and float back to my launch spot so that I don't need a second person or vehicle. I used to do a float in a canoe from the "Beacon Lodge camp" to the boat launch in Newton Hamilton but it's been quite a few years since I did that and I can't remember if that would be a good spot to paddle upstream or not. We always had a 2nd vehicle involved when I had the canoe.
Also, I would love to find some spots further upstream from Newton Hamilton...even the Frankstown Branch would be great if it's doable.

I've kayaked many times but never for fishing and I've always been floating downstream so I wasn't sure how feasible it is for my plan. Any help would be great!

Thanks!

First of all, where are you? It sounds like you're in my neck of the woods. Secondly, basically anywhere on the Juniata you can easily paddle a kayak upstream. When you hit a really fast/hard riffle just hop out and walk your boat up through it if need be. I've paddled way far upstream and flavored back to my launch point many times on the Juniata. Just pick an access point and go for it. I know the upper Juniata from Point Access to Mifflintown very well.

here ya go

https://www.amazon.com/Paddling-Pennsylvania-Kayaking-Canoeing-Keystone/dp/0811736261/ref=olp_product_details?_encoding=UTF8&me=

jifigz wrote: