Juniata

MKern

MKern

I'm pretty new to fishing the river for smallies.

I am fairly confident in spin gear after this first year, but really want to be successful with the fly rod.

What line do you recommend for the Juniata during the summer months?

Also, what leader setups do you guys use?

I have looked a intermediate sinking lines from 1" to 6" per second, but have no idea how fast is too fast or not fast enough.

I have also seen "bass" leaders that are 5 foot long and some that are 9 foot long. I know that if the bass are hitting they aren't going to be line/leader shy. To me 9' is probably too long.

Any advise is welcome.

I would use this line or any similar Bass line

I also like to hand furl my leaders for bass here is a video on how to do it Hand furled leaders I like to use at least ten pound test tippet for bass they are for the most part not leader shy. I usually go anywhere from 7-9 feet in total length for my leaders when I use a floating line .

I try to keep it as simple as possible for bass (or trout for that matter).

6 weight floating line. Leader length around 6 feet. A little longer or shorter is no big deal. I will sometimes even use 10 lb test straight mono leader with an 8 lb test tippet. Weighted fly or split shot if you want to get the fly down. That setup has worked well for me, and it's really low maintenance.

MKern wrote:
What line do you recommend for the Juniata during the summer months?
Also, what leader setups do you guys use?

Any weight forward, floating line that matches your rod will work fine. No need for a sinking line during summer.

For a leader, I like a length of about 8' with a butt of about 30lb, mid-section of 20lb, and tippet of about 14lb. No need for fine tippets in bass fishing.
Keep it simple.

I do a lot of Smallmouth fishing and have tried different lines.
I fish a 6-weight with Sage Bass11 Taper(WF290GR) with Rio T-11