It actually happened...

tstooge26

tstooge26

I stopped and fished the DHALO section of meadow run after work today. The water was slightly high but with good color and 41 degrees. I fished the middle section up to the falls. Fishing prob 100 yards down from the falls I hooked a double, one fish on each fly. I was throwing egg pattern trailed by a small nymph with most fish coming on the nymphs. Get a strike, set the hook and bam two fish and to boot they were two different species. Brook trout hit the egg and the brown hit the nymph.

My question is how common is this? I have been throwing two flies for a couple years now and never had this happen with trout. Have caught two creek chubs but was shocked to do it with trout. Anyways it made my day so I'm happy

I wouldn't call it rare, but it usually involves 1 species.

It has never happened to me, but once I nearly caught two trout on the same fly. I hooked a small 3 inch trout and while I was landing it a much larger trout tried to consume it. Didn't land the bigger fellow trying to save the little guys life.

Had 2 doubles last year, all wild browns.

Have had times when I got as many doubles as I wanted with redbreasted sunfish :)

My theory is when fish are very aggressively feeding, the first take and hook set induces a strike on the other fly's sudden movement

I think I've had 2 doubles in the last 3 or 4 years. One of them was a smallmouth/ wild brown double on the little j, which was pretty cool to see.

tstooge26 wrote:
My question is how common is this?

It's not uncommon to get a "double" when you're fishing tandem flies, especially if the flies are spaced a bit further from each other.

My question is how common is this?

Reasonably common. Meaning, when I fished more, I was good for 1 or 2 a year. Now I don't get out quite as much.