Interesting, albeit heavy-handed read about Project Future (remember that?)

Nymph-wristed

Nymph-wristed

I like the part about how stocked trout like people :lol:

http://articles.philly.com/1991-07-26/news/25783376_1_hatchery-trout-wild-trout-brook-and-rainbow

Prime example of how PFBC can spin science into propaganda in any direction it would like...

Remember, the article is from 1991.

Also, "like people" was in reference to how a mass of hatchery trout, expecting to be fed, would follow people as they walked along a raceway.

Mike wrote:
Remember, the article is from 1991.

Also, "like people" was in reference to how a mass of hatchery trout, expecting to be fed, would follow people as they walked along a raceway.

Yes, no doubt quoted out of context, I hope. But that's not how it necessarily reads or how the non-fishing public read it at the time. I was a college student in NEPA at the time, and I was all for letting wild fish thrive and not stocking over wild populations. Still am. But since I live in Philly, I selfishly would like to fish places other than Valley every week.

The piece is a mess in other ways too, however. Where did the wild browns come from, I wonder, if no hatchery fish survive?

The only even-handed comments seem to come from the man releasing stockies in the Ridley FFO....

Interesting article, thanks for posting it.

I'm not clear what is meant by spin in the article, though.

The comment about PFBC trout not surviving did not come from a PFBC employee.

Like Troutbert, I am wondering what you are referring to as spin.

I am also not fully understanding your comment about Valley Ck or Valley Ck alternatives.

Bachman wasn't a PFBC employee?

According to the article he was employed by Maryland at that time.