I pulled the trigger,New Nymphing Rod, need assistance...

jwatts

jwatts

I have always been intrigued my Nymphing, I play around with it on a 6wt 8'6" rod. Today I purchased my first Cabelas CZN Nymphing rod in a 4wt 10'
I know some people will scoff at a cabelas rod but with raising 2 little kiddos moneys always an object. At $200 for this rod I was hesitating on buying it but I bit the bullet. In your guys opinion, what would be the best way to set this up? I could use some assistance on nymphing too, I am new to this. Any help woul be greatly appreciated, thank you

dude, good for you. I am no comp guy but from what I have seen from Becker you're gonna need to get used to handling a long leader and heavyish flies. I watched him high stick and the biggest thing I learned was managing your line depth and speed through the run you are working. I would suggest you get used to "ticking" the bottom of the run with your flies. I have experimented with several different rigs and often I do not tie on a sighter or anything like that but you can and it definitely helps. I can also tell you that when you can't swing up steelhead with a streamer this method is VERY effective when working a funnel where the fish have to come through. keep working on it and learn to "FEEL" the bottom and the stirke. It's my least favorite way to FF but it is probably my most productive. Have fun with you're new rig I have a 10' 4wt and it definitely is a versatile tool and can be a lot of fun! Hope that helps.

Hey, nothing wrong with cabelas, they do some nice stuff.

As long as you can get out on the water and catch fish, that's the main thing.

I'd recommend the Dynamic Nymphing book for pointers .

I use straight 6 foot of 3x to a 2mm tippet ring then 2ft of 5x to the nymph.

The indicator goes above the tippet ring and a non toxic shot goes 6" above the fly.

That's my most basic set up, and that's what I'd start with.

Have fun.

geebee wrote: