How/where to find SM bass in the Susquehanna.

drumat26

drumat26

I'm relatively new to fly fishing for ww fish. That being said I wanted to try my luck since it seems other anglers are having success. I fished this past Saturday and for about 4 hours yesterday and managed one nice fish to hand along with a few pip squeaks. I fished where the Mahantango flows into the river Saturday and out in front of millersburg yesterday. I've been fishing mostly big streamers and wooly buggers in white or olive with some white or yellow poppers thrown in. Most of the water I got into was waist deep or lower. I fished mostly tail waters of small Rapids and then directly under the Rapids themselves. all of my trout fishing instincts are telling me I should be finding or seeing more fish. Yesterday I had one fish strike around 12" and saw another around 16". And those were the only fish I saw. With as clear as the water is I feel like I should be seeing more fish.

I guess my question is where can I find some of these fish. Not looking for any specific spots, just general ideas. My gut is telling me to find deeper water but I really don't know anything about bass fishing so any thoughts would be appreciated . Thanks in advance for your help.

Sorry meant to post in beginners forum

Check out the dauphin area. Has always been good to me. Don't think that you have to find deep water, as big bass like to sit shallow a lot. Sometimes they're in such shallow water you would think they'd be sticking out the water. Hit weed beds, especially hit the front of the weed bed and behind. Fish right before dark with a popper. Remember big fish don't always like big currents.

drumat26 wrote:
I fished this past Saturday and for about 4 hours yesterday and managed one nice fish to hand along with a few pip squeaks.

This isn't bad. Like trout fishing, some days the bass just seem to disappear and or don't seem very active. The areas you hit sound good to me.