How much would this cost?

MathFish

MathFish

So I recently helped a buddy of mine catch some trout on nymphs. To help him with this, I rigged him up with tandem nymphs (a Frenchie with a soft hackle dropper) under an indicator and gave him some pointers on how to get a drag free drift. I was happy that the trout were cooperative so that he could have his best day ever using nymphs...

When we returned to our cars, he asked me if I could tie him some flies that were pre-rigged as tandems and that he would pay me to do so. Now, know that I am a self-taught tier (books and the internet) and I laughed out loud at the idea of him paying me for flies. He insisted - to which I said that he could just pay for the hooks if he had to pay something.

I tie flies for the enjoyment of it, not for selling them, and in truth, I would prefer that he just accept the flies them as a gift.

His insistence on paying me got me wondering though...

What would something like this run for? I have 16 sets of pre-rigged droppers, the top flies patterns are weighted and have been chosen because each has some sort of flashiness. The bottom flies are all non-weighted soft hackle patterns.

They are all pre-rigged with 4lb Seguar fluorocarbon tied onto the bend of the top fly to each bottom fly. They are secured in a piece of foam that that I have cut to a size so that the foam will fit perfectly in an accompanying clear plastic pencil case to protect the flies.

I am WAY too slow of a tier to ever be interested in tying flies to sell, but I am just curious what you think something like this would sell for in a shop. I am merely asking out of curiosity.

Attachments

• Nymph Tandem Rigs 6-11-16 R2.png
    Nymph Tandem Rigs 6-11-16 R2.png
    172 KB · Views: 6